[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
Resin Addict Forum • View topic - Thin film on surface of casting
ATTENTION: As of March 2017 the Resin Addict Forums are being wound down.
New members are no longer being accepted. Read more about it here.

Thin film on surface of casting

Questions and discussion of tools, materials and techniques.

Moderator: Wardens

Thin film on surface of casting

Postby bucknast » Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:26 pm

Hello all, I'm new to castings and to this forum so bear with me.

I'm attempting to make water clear castings of spinal vertebrae for an art project, and am using a two part platinum cured silicone mold, polyester resin with MEKP catalyst, and stoner rocket release.

The issue I'm getting is that there's a thin film that forms on the outside of the casting that folds and buckles when opening the mold and adheres quickly to the sticky surface of the casting, creating a nasty surface finish.

http://i.imgur.com/ry7OOjb.jpg

The mold interior has a nice smooth surface finish, so I ruled that out.

My thought is that this is caused by shrinkage and heat issues during curing, and am attempting to find an optimal ratio of resin to catalyst.

What am I missing here?

Thanks for any advice!
bucknast
Casual

Re: Thin film on surface of casting

Postby johncast » Mon Apr 28, 2014 2:24 pm

Hello bucknast

Welcome to the forum , sorry to hear about your problems with the casting .
As I have experience the very same problems on my first resin castings. Years ago