[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
Resin Addict Forum • View topic - Dystopian Wars Resin?
ATTENTION: As of March 2017 the Resin Addict Forums are being wound down.
New members are no longer being accepted. Read more about it here.

Dystopian Wars Resin?

Questions and discussion of tools, materials and techniques.

Moderator: Wardens

Dystopian Wars Resin?

Postby Rexxthunder » Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:26 am

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to the casting arena. I've been using mostly the Micro-Mark stuff. I've been playing this game called Dystopian Wars. They cast their miniatures in this gray resin that looks like it's got a filler in it. I've also seen Games workshop use this stuff for their terrain props. Do you guys have any idea what this material is?

Thanks.

-Rexx
Rexxthunder
Casual

Re: Dystopian Wars Resin?

Postby Fleafa » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:18 am

Most likely polyurethane with whatever the cheapest filler they can get hold of at the time is. Maybe slate or talc.

Fleafa
Junkie

Postby mangozac » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:09 am

The grey colour of resins is generally just a pigment - I wouldn't expect them to be using filler on such small parts as the dystopian wars stuff. Filler makes the resin too viscous and thus harder to force into all of the crevices of the mould. I'd say it's ok for terrain pieces or big, thick parts lacking fine detail.

As Fleafa pointed out, if a company does use a filler it will often be slate or talc dust (whichever is cheapest).
Oh yeah I can make that....
mangozac
Resin Addict Collaborator